The Women’s Board Scholarship Program

The Women's Board 2017 Scholarship Program

This year, the Women’s Board provided $80,000 in scholarships for the 2017-2018 school year, awarding 54 qualified high school, undergraduate and graduate degree students in all areas of health care.

Congratulations to the 2017 Women’s Board Scholarship Program Award Recipients:

WB 2017 Scholarship Winners

Terisha Adams
Caitlin Addison
Destinee Akindana
Kimberly Albines
Nada Babaa
Bernadette Badamo
Zarsh Bhatti
Kaitlyn Blair
Elizabeth Bruno
Clare Campbell
Mimi Cao-Pham
Mary Carbonell
Megan Dang
Brian Flatter
Senali Fonseka
Amber Glasser
Tina Graf
Adrienne Halley
Melissa Hewitt
Lisa Hong
Mary Jenkins
Claire Jenkins
Kaitlyn Kalnoske
Loren Kimmel
Alyssa Leininger
Danielle Livingstone
Jessica Martin
Mareine Mbengang 
Simonne McCants
Belinda Mensah
Alana Morgante
Connie Nguyen
Renata Nkeze
Anjali Noronha
Julia Pachulski
Martha Rakhshan
Emily Ramsayer
Natalie Raymond
Courtney Romanowski
Carlyn Russell
Erika Saunders 
Renyta Scales
Alana Schrecengost
Radhika Sood
Euthymia Stratakis
Donnel Thomas
Ali Waseem
Singiti Weerasuriya
Jacqueline Weiss
Kaleigh Williams
Betselot Wondimu
Kira Yates
Melody Yun
Rachel Zemel

We would like to recognize the award recipients who received their fourth scholarship award this year, congratulations to Kaitlyn Kalnoske, Belinda Mensah, Donnel Thomas, Singiti Weerasuriya and Jacqueline Weiss.

4 Year Scholarship Winners

Kaitlyn Kalnoske, Donnel Thomas and Belinda Mensah (center) are pictured with Carole Derrick, Women’s Board president, Amy Cohen, scholarship chair, and Thomas J. Senker, FACHE, president, MedStar Montgomery Medical Center.

Congratulations to the Peter W. Monge Scholarship of Excellence award recipient from the Women’s Board

Megan Dang won the second annual Peter W. Monge Scholarship of Excellence from the Women’s Board which recognizes one individual that exemplify excellence in Leadership, Community Service and the Healthcare Field.

Pete Monge Scholarship Winner

Megan Dang (center) is pictured with (from left to right) Amy Cohen, scholarship chair, T.J. Senker, FACHE, president of MedStar Montgomery Medical Center, Pete W. Monge, former hospital president and Carole Derrick, Women’s Board President.

SLIDESHOWScholarship Recognition Luncheon

On Tuesday, June 13, the Women’s Board hosted a luncheon to recognize the scholarship award recipients.

Click "View Slideshow" to enjoy photos from the event.



Awarding Qualified Scholars for Over 50 Years

In 1957, the Jean Bird Scholarship Program was created, named after the wife of Dr. Jacob Wheeler Bird, the founder of Montgomery County General Hospital, now MedStar Montgomery Medical Center. A memorial fund established to provide scholarships to those interested in pursuing careers in the nursing. In 1969, the Women's Board assumed responsibility for the scholarship fund and has continued to award honorable students each year.

Information about the 2018 Women’s Board Scholarship Program will be available in December of 2017. If you have any questions or concerns, please email [email protected] or leave a message at 301-774-8840.